Very slow lazy susan

Hey guys, I'm helping my fiancé with her solo art show and she needs to move a GOBO projected light across a wall at a very, very slow pace, so that it takes about 8 hours for it to travel across the wall. Now we'll be using a gobo projector that will be sitting on a pedestal, so I was thinking I could create a motorized lazy susan to rotate it, but I wasn't sure if I could use a normal servo motor at such slow speeds or if I'd need to use a stepper motor. Servo would be preferable so the movement is smooth, but if that's not possible we'll have to make do.

Apologies if this is a dumb question, I'm a programmer by trade but this is my first foray into the engineering side of things. Thanks!

A servo makes steps of 1/180 when the Arduino Stepper library is used. It doesn't seem the right choice for this task. The light would move once in a while and that would not be a smooth movement.

A steppermotor with a gear seems a better choice. Or a normal motor with a gear, if you have some kind of feedback on the position.

Unfortunately we wouldn't have any positional feedback, so it sounds like a steppermotor with a gear to smooth it out would be better.

A stepper motor should be fine. The important thing is the gearing between the motor and the lazy susan so that many revolutions of the motor produce a fraction of a revolution of the lasy susan.

move a GOBO projected light across a wall at a very, very slow pace, so that it takes about 8 hours for it to travel across the wall.

The needed information is the throw-distance, the width of the projection, the total wall/screen size... that is, you could move a projection on a fixed width screen with new scenes coming in from the left-side OR you could move the entire projection of x-width across a larger wall of y-width.