Vias and Routing Layout on Uno R3

Hi,

I am a newbie trying to clone Uno R3, working on PCB routing in Eagle one wire by one wire.

Here is my question:

It is pretty weird for me that, in the official .brd file, there are a lot of vias there without any routes connected. And a lot of routes go around some "useless" vias, making a detour, instead of directly connect two points.

Could anyone tell me why should the design be like that?

Thank you!

These are probably making connections to GND but, we need to know the examples you are referring.

LarryD:
These are probably making connections to GND but, we need to know the examples you are referring.

https://im1.shutterfly.com/media/47a5ce04b3127cceea26e8f21f9a00000030O00Abt2jNy1aNXIPbz4U/cC/f%3D0/ls%3D00905459347720151026001812205.JPG/ps%3D50/r%3D0/rx%3D550/ry%3D400/

Here is a screenshot I made from the .brd of Uno R3, inside which there is a big detour and 3 useless vias.

LarryD:

Here is the second screenshot, with 4 useless vias and one detour around a useless via.

https://im1.shutterfly.com/media/47a5ce04b3127cceea262b8cde2d00000030O00Abt2jNy1aNXIPbz4U/cC/f%3D0/ls%3D00905459347720151026003114623.JPG/ps%3D50/r%3D0/rx%3D550/ry%3D400/

I call them "useless" because there was no route to connect the via.

The most useless area is around power polygon, U1 (NCP1117ST50T3G), where there are 7 useless vias.

Please help me check it.

Thank you!

Those vias are used to connect the ground plane on one side to the other.
The detour keeps away from the crystal.

Most likely to connect to ground planes.

http://dangerousprototypes.com/2012/07/18/eagle-polygons/

Leo..

Take the same same screen shots with Rats Nest selected, that will enable the Ground planes to be seen, and the connections to pins that are not visible now.

LarryD:
Those vias are used to connect the ground plane on one side to the other.
The detour keeps away from the crystal.