Virtual Organ/Console Project Questions

I am very new to Arduino, but I know that there boards have been used before in virtual organ builds and I also know there are companies that make ready-made products for encoding and decoding midi for use with connecting the console (box of switches essentially) to a computer running software (Hauptwerk) that takes the midi information (encoder) and plays sample sets of actual pipe organs that have been digitally sampled and “processed” so that you have a noteON signal, attack signal, loop signal and release signal completing the single note and finally notOFF. This is then connected back to the console (decoder) to either light the controls showing that they are on or triggering a dual electromagnetic action that physically turns on or off a control (like a stop/voice or coupler) and also send the audio signal to a sound system comprised of a reverb unit (either physical or VST), amplifiers and speakers of varying types for different frequencies and divisions of the organ.

My background is in physical pipe organs and their system/s of operation using either elector-pneumatic or direct electric means to open valves that let pressurized air enter each pipe/s as it/they is/are played, based on the stops and couplers that are engaged.

There are two schools of though to scanning the controls. One is matrixed and the other is direct-wired. Matrixing requires far fewer inputs than the direct wired scenario which requires one input per key, stop, coupler, etc.

There needs to be both digital and analog inputs as the Swell Pedals and Crescendo send analog signal via potentiometers or replaying the analog potentiometers with digital potentiometers.

There also needs to be a programmable preset system with many levels of memory. This utilizes thumb pistons and toe studs for making very quick registration changes during a performance.

To (hopefully) better explain this, I will list what would be on a medium sized organ.