Volatile qualifier

Hey guys,

First time poster here, so i'll give a little bit of my background and goals: I'm a senior EE student with a decent bit of programming (mostly C++) experience and zero microcontroller experience. The arduino was recommended to me for some DIY/learning resources so i ordered my first board today! 8-)

Anyway, i'm looking to start off by doing some simple things... switching relays, reading encoders, 7segment displays, etc.

I'm just doing some research on the encoder bit and i'm having a little trouble understanding what declaring a variable as 'volatile' will get you... I have looked through the reference/example and i understand the situations WHEN you would need to use the qualifier. But i don't understand why. That is, why is it more advantageous to have certain variables declared in RAM rather than in a storage register.

Hopefully that makes sense and someone can shed some light on the topic! Thanks alot for your patience and assistance.

Essentially, volatile turns off a form of optimization performed by the compiler. I'll try to describe what happens using an example...

int i;

void DoIt( void )
{
  int j;
  int k;

j = i + 37;  // ref #1

// bunch of code here that does not modify i

k = i + 41;  // ref #2

// more code here
}

The variable i is used twice in DoIt. Because the value of i was loaded into a register at ref #1, i was not modified between ref #1 and ref #2, and the value of i was again used at ref #2, the compiler does not bother to reload i from memory; the value already in a register is used. Adding volatile prevents the compiler from performing this optimization. The value of i is always loaded from memory. This ensures data shared with an interrupt service routine is fresh and correct.

Does that make sense?

guitarguy,

As I understand it, the ‘volatile’ qualifier is primarily used in conjunction with interrupt routines.