Voltage drop on connecting with Arduino Pro Mini

Hello,
Noob here :slight_smile:

I have setup as shown in the attachment 1 - an external device which outputs 4,8V and some small current.

I connect a Arduino Pro mini ( as shown in attachment 2) and the voltage drops to 2.2 V on the output of the external device.

Stuoid question - how I can still connect the Arduino Pro Mini without using another power source?
Any ideas what I can use so Arduino Pro Mini runs only from that external device ? Capacitors?

Thanks a lot for any tips

What, exactly, is this "third party controller" and how much is "a small current"?

It is a Logicdata controller but don't know exactly the model.... The current I measured was around 100mA

If that's a 5V "signal" it can't be used to power anything. It has to be 5V power, and of course, it has to be capable of supplying the required current.

For example, you can power a 2nd Arduino from the Arduino's 5V pin, but you can't power the 2nd Arduino from an I/O pin.

In any case, you are apparently pulling too much current from your controller and there is a possibility of damaging it!

It is a Logicdata controller

Of course, how silly of me. :blush:

edgemoron: Of course, how silly of me. :blush:

I am sorry, last night I didn't know the exact model. Here is the exact one: http://www.logicdata.net/blog/product/smart/

with following tech details: http://www.logicdata.net/wp-content/uploads/2017/05/Datasheet_SMART-e_English-Rev1.pdf