Voltage Inverter: Arduino to 250Vrms AC @ 25-200Hz

Hello!

I am new to Arduino (besides working through Banzi's Getting Started with Arduino) and have the following design need and appreciate any pointers / feedback.

I am working with a type of Smart Glass that needs the following input to change between states:

230-280Vrms square wave AC voltage at 25-200Hz.

Any help is greatly appreciated.

Thanks, Bt

Do you need to change the Hz? Rectify the 240V to 2 parts -240 and +240 (assuming you need both parts) with diode rectifier(s) (2 needed to get both polarity) http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rectifier switch the rectified dc with a opto isolated fet on 2 pins turning -+-+-+ with the pins at the appropriate frequency

David

Please clarify exactly what changes between states: Does the voltage (230V vs. 280V) change between states? Does the frequency (25Hz vs. 200Hz) change between states? Or is no voltage at all vs. ~250VAC the factor that changes between states?

I suspect that when you apply NOTHING, the glass is on one state, and the glass changes state when you apply a large AC voltage

Your assumption is correct. The glass is in one state when No Voltage is applied and another state when a voltage between 230-280V and at 25-200Hz is applied.

I live in the U.S. (110V 60Hz)

Thanks for info. I'll start looking into optical-coupled solid-state relays.

You should be able to find a DC to AC inverter that will take 12 or 24 volts DC and produce 230VAC - search inverter in google,

You could use something as simple as an optical-coupled solid-state relay to switch the mains power on and off. A solid state relay like this can be connected directly to an Arduino digital output pin.

I've been looking around a bit online and have a quick question.

Will any optical-coupled solid-state relays provide a square wave?

I live in the U.S. (110V 60Hz)

Thanks for info. I'll start looking into optical-coupled solid-state relays.