Vsta locks when trying to upload a sketch

Is anyone aware of compatibility problems using the Duemilanove on Vista Business? I run it on a Vista pc, and it does not seem as stable as on an old Win 2k machine that I use. Seems flaky and very slow in the Vista machine, I can't pin anything down, it just doesn't seem right.

The Arduino did run a blinkm ok for a while, but now when I plug in the Duemila and try to upload the sketch all starts ok, but then the PC locks solid, and nothing fixes it, except unplugging the mains.

Any suggestions anyone? I have not yet retried the Duemila on the win 2k machine yet, but will do (In case there is a board problem) Rob Mcp

Sorry suggestions still gratefully received, but I am checking something, I think (I'm very new to this) I originally downloaded arduino-012-win.zip. I now notice that it is up to 015, if this is the latest version.

Can I do a simple unzip on this? And will it replace the 012 version, or do I need to do a more creative uninstall?

but then the PC locks solid

This is very likely a problem with a device driver (video, ethernet, wireless, etcetera) or a problem with the PC hardware (overclocked?).

Unfortunately, the only help I can offer is: ensure you're using the latest FTDI drivers.

Good luck, Brian

Thanks Being new to this, what do I do with arduino-015? Do I unzip it & Delete the other one? (012 version) Do I need new FTDI drivers with it?

I have not overclocked or made any other variations. Thanks McP

Being new to this, what do I do with arduino-015? Do I unzip it & Delete the other one? (012 version)

I'm afraid I can't help. I started with 015 so I have no experience with upgrading. Hopefully, someone with upgrading experience will chime-in.

Do I need new FTDI drivers with it?

You don't need new FTDI drivers because you're upgrading Arduino. You need to ensure you have the latest drivers to try to overcome the lock-up problem.

Good luck, Brian

Hopefully, anyone out there.......?