Wait on switch input question

Hi, I'm new to Arduino and I'm stuck with a switch input problem. I would appreciate some help with my program please.

Essentially I'm writing the code for a car game which I am building and designing.

The problem I have is that the program does not wait on a switch input instead it continues to execute the code.

The program does respond to the switch input (coinsw) and the 4 select LEDS light, but I want it to wait until the player selects a car until it executes the rest of the code instead it continues and loops to the start of the program.

I need to write a switch detection routine which stops and waits until a button is pressed before continuing. I am finding this difficult to do.

Essentially, wait until carselect switch is pressed (do nothing until it is).

/* pauls car game */ int insertcoinPin = 36; int coinswPin = 2; int losePin = 37; int payoutPin = 3; int rcselectPin = 41; int bcselectPin = 40; int gcselectPin = 39; int wcselectPin = 38; int rcrevPin = 53; int bcrevPin = 51; int gcrevPin = 49; int wcrevPin = 48; int rcforwardPin = 52; int bcforwardPin = 50; int gcforwardPin = 48; int wcforwardPin = 46; int rcselectswPin = 35; int bcselectswPin = 34; int gcselectswPin = 33; int wcselectswPin = 32; int rcwinswPin = 31; int bcwinswPin = 30; int gcwinswPin = 29; int wcwinswPin = 28; int rcwreturnswPin = 27; int bcreturnswPin = 26; int gcreturnswPin = 25; int wcreturnswPin = 24; int payPin = 23; int buttonState = 0; // variable for reading the pushbutton status int redcarsw = 0; int bluecarsw = 0; int greencarsw = 0; int whitecarsw = 0; int redwinsw = 0; int bluewinsw = 0; int greenwinsw = 0; int whitewinsw = 0; long randNumber1; long randNumber2; long randNumber3; long randNumber4;