Wait statement or similar function

Hi. I am new to Arduino. And hopefully this is my 1st question to Arduino forum.

I have a program where I am reading a string from the serial monitor and printing it to my LCD.

The problem is when I am printing my string, Eg,. Serial.print("enter the word"); When I read this and transfer those values to my LCD and LCD will display my input string and holds. But my serial monitor keeps on printing again and again "enter the word". I want my Arduino to print once "enter the word" then if user inputs then get those values and transfer it to an LCD. Then again only once it should ask to print not again and again. If you guys have know that any function can help me on this .. will be appreciated. And I have an another issue in printing on my LCD . Eg,. If I get the word "hello" from the user from serial monitor then when I print it on my LCD it prints hello including one unknown character next to the word hello which I don't even know what I should call for that. I am sorry for my bad English):..

It would help if you posted your program. It's not easy to tell you what should be changed in something we can't see.

See "How to use this forum - please read" at the top of this and every forum for useful information about how to ask questions and how to post code etc.

Steve

I want my Arduino to print once "enter the word"

Make the printing of the prompt dependant on a boolean variable and print it only when the boolean is false. Once you have printed the message set the boolean to true to prevent further printing

If I get the word "hello" from the user from serial monitor then when I print it on my LCD it prints hello including one unknown character next to the word hello

How exactly are you getting the input from the user ?

Please post your complete program here using code tags when you do to avoid the forum software misinterpreting parts of your code as HTML commands