Wake Up Computer with gsm module touch USB port .. Project

First Hy :stuck_out_tongue: my name is DAN.

I am a happy owner of a Arduino UNO R3 board ... for a month now ... and im thinking on a project but i'm not an expert in electronics's more like a hobby from my childhood ... and for that i'm here to ask for your help and guidance.

The idea is : I want to add a GSM/GPRS & GPS SHIELD V2 WITH MODULO FT900M .. and something that i can connect it on a USB computer "any computer that have USB" and when is connected, with another phone to call ARDUINO (with GSM/GPRS shield) and power ON the computer ....later i'm thinking even to start an application "to a computer without password protection" like VNC ...and like that i connect from any part of the world .... i now that is already something like that... with wake on LAN ... but is not the same ... is much cooler to attach like a USB key on your computer and with a phone to power it on and give you the possibility to connect VPN.

Until now i have the idea and the GSM/GPRS & GPS SHIELD V2 WITH MODULO FT900M ..... and from now i need help with : the rest :)) ... how to make from a phone call to power up the computer "will be awesome only from a number my own number".

Thanks

Hi Dan, and welcome !

You posed an interesting question as I know the USB can be used to wake a PC that's in a sleep mode, but didn't know if it can be used to wake it from an off state. After a bit of Google-fu I've not found a way of waking the PC from completely off via USB, though I remember way back in the dark ages of PS/2 keyboards you could set up a HP Vectra to boot from off when you pressed the space key. Looks like that functionality was non-standard and might has not survived to the USB keyboard era...