WakeUpLight

HI!

At first I am a NOOBIE at this forum and with arduino. So take it easy and try to explain as profoundly as you can.
This is my first project ever and it is a be a big challenge for me, that’s why I am asking for help.

What I am going to do is a wake up light which is attached to the ceiling. At he morning before you wake up it starts to increase the brightness trying to imitate the sunrise. (see attachment) When you should wake up it is very bright. At the day time it should work as a normal lamp. In the evening it should imitate the sunset by fading away. At night it could grow like a night sky… Wake up time and the amount of sleep is set with smartphone via bluetooth. First draft of my idea is attached below.

I am going to do this step by step…At first I have to create a clock, the sunrise and daytime. If I have time I’ll do the sunset and night sky. BUT HOW?
HOW to create a program? What kind of architecture it should have? Help is needed! XD

you can use a light sensor to detect the real sunrise outside, or use a real time clock and an algorithm for day of year - http://forum.arduino.cc/index.php/topic,66426.0.html -

Description is maybe a bit inaccurate (need to fix it)… Purpose is to create such a WakeUpLight that helps you to wake up. Because the light decreases your natural level of melatonin (“sleeping hormone”). Not really follow the real solar cycle.

My idea is to create a real time clock and feed inputs such as amount_of_sleep and wake_up_time with smartphone.
Idea of the code could be like this:

If clock => wake_up_time - 30mins
then go to sunrise mode

If clock => wake_up_time
then go to day mode

If clock => wake_up_time-amount_of_sleep-30mins
then go to sunset mode

If clock < wake_up_time - 30mins
then go to night sky mode

My problem is that I don’t know (yet) how to create a clock, how to communicate with bluetooth, HOW to control LEDs so that it really looks like a sunrise or sunset or night sky…