Waking up from SLEEP_

Hello I am quite new to Arduino, but I have some embedded knowledge from using other uC’s

I am putting my device to sleep (SLEEP_MODE_PWR_DOWN) and then when waking it up via Interrupt on pin two, I see some strange behaviours with my enum StateMachine variable.

I do not change its value and Prior sleep serial.print shows 4 i.e. STANDBY after wake up it goes to an undefined value?

/UPDATE/
I tried to bodge and assign back CurrentState=STANDBY; In the ISR call but this doesn’t seem to work, it feels to me like the definition of the enum is vanished?!

Has any one seen similar issues or has any suggestions?

Many thanks
Eryk

enum StateMachine {
	//State of the Device
	VIBRARTION_1,
	VIBRARTION_2,
	VIBRARTION_3,
	COOLING,
	STANDBY,
	BATTERY_CHECK,
	CHARGING

};

StateMachine CurerntState = STANDBY;
void GoToSleep(){
	  attachInterrupt(digitalPinToInterrupt(BUTTON_PIN), wakeupISR, FALLING);
	  delay(100); 
	  set_sleep_mode(SLEEP_MODE_PWR_DOWN); 
	  sleep_enable();
	  sleep_mode();
	  sleep_disable();
}
void wakeupISR() {
	detachInterrupt(0); 

}

You haven’t posted all your code or the output from the serial console so it is not clear if this is the issue, but you get garbage from Serial.print on wakeup if the serial buffer was not flushed properly before sleep.
That could give the symptoms of the undefined value you refer to.

Thanks for the advice, I stumbled across this problem but fixed it already...

I know the value is wrong as the code doesn't run properly after sleep anymore when it gets to switch(CurrentState){};

Is your state declared as volatile if you are messing with it in the ISR?

I don’t see any code that changes or reads StateMachine so your question doesn’t make any sense.

http://snippets-r-us.com/

Please edit your post, select the code, and put it between [code][/code] tags.

You can do that by hitting the “Code” icon above the posting area. It is the first icon, with the symbol: </>

How to use this forum