Wall sensing robot code help

I am very new to arduino and code.

I’m trying to help my students create a wall sensing robot. They have a two wheel robot chassis and an ultrasonic ping sensor. We have it all coded to have the robot move forward and have the ping sensor wired and running. My question is writing the if statement so when the sensor senses an obstacle it will stop the wheels, turn a specific amount, and move forward again. I want to learn how to code and not just copy and paste others although I don’t mind repurposing code, I just want to learn. Can someone help with step by step how to write the code to do the above?
thanks

My question is writing the if statement so when the sensor senses an obstacle it will stop the wheels, turn a specific amount, and move forward again.

This seems like such a simple thing. What have you tried? What were the results?

Using an if test:
if(dist < 10)
{
// do stuff here
}

Stop:
// depends on your motor shield,
// the connections and how many
// motors there are and whether
// braking is needed

Turn:
// the connections

Go:
// the connections

I really haven't tried yet. I didn't know how to start.

Have you got code that turns the motors on and off to move forwards, backwards, turn, stop?

Have you got code that obtains a distance reading from the ping sensor?

void pingsensor()
{
<snip> 
  delay(100); // Why?
}

gizahuna:
This is what I have for code so far:

Please enclose code in [ code ] [ / code ] tags when posting in the forum. Just click on the little # button when editing your post.

I’d prefer to see the motor pin numbers defined as constants rather than have the pin numbers scattered through the code.

I noticed that ‘forward’ sets the two motors to different speeds. Any reason for that?