Want to learn microcontroller use & programming to glow LEDs in scale model cars

Hello guys,

I want to install lights to miniature scale model of cars and bikes. I currently use external breadboard to control LEDs using DIP switches and i blink turn indicators using 555 timer.

here's my current setup:

4 X 3mm white LED (headlamps)
2 X SMD LED (pilot lamps)
2 X 5mm LED (angel eyes setup)
4 X SMD LED (turn indicators, i use 555 timer to blink them)
2 X 3mm LED (tail lamp)
2 X SMD LED (internal cockpit lamp and console light)

I want to learn microcontroller programming so i can integrate all components inside the model and use IR remote control (or maybe bluetooth of cellphone) to control all the LEDs.

I am n00b in electronics but i know basic circuit and its components, I have never worked with microcontroller before. I need some information about where to start. I searched for hours but i only found tutorials involving robotics or relay based light controller (110-220V home lights). since i want to glow only LEDs, i don't need relay i suppose?

I don't want to go into advanced robotics and such stuff.

I intend to use atmega8 uC. I don't have too much knowledge if this can handle my requirements. Any help will be highly appreciated.

Hello

Welcome to the World of the small scale.

For Starters I recommend the following Links:
Arduino Getting Started Guide: http://arduino.cc/en/Guide/HomePage
Arduino Examples: http://arduino.cc/en/Tutorial/HomePage (Start on the top left and work your way through....)

You'll probably need an ArduinoMega, as the UNO only provides 14 Digital I/O pins, but you need at least 16 (one per LED)

riesens:
Hello

Welcome to the World of the small scale.

For Starters I recommend the following Links:
Arduino Getting Started Guide: http://arduino.cc/en/Guide/HomePage
Arduino Examples: http://arduino.cc/en/Tutorial/HomePage (Start on the top left and work your way through…)