Want to Make a Hydroponic Garden Controller

Hi, I'm new to Arduino. I'm trying to make a Hydroponic Garden Controller. What I need it to do is control 5 110vac pumps. 3 are small fountain pumps to pump water thru the system, and 2 are aquarium air pumps to aerate the nutrient reservoirs. I want to be able to run the water pumps 3 times a day for a specified amount of time. The air pumps will come on twice a day for a longer period of time. I also want indicator lites on each pump so I know, with a glance, which system is running. The controller will be mounted in my garage next to the AC supply, and than wires for each component will be piped out to the appropriate system. Would this be possible with a Arduino Uno card and a 8 or 12 channel relay (expansion for future) board? ANy help will be appreciated. I have found some insight into this system on controlling lights, but I would like to make sure this would work.

Thanks,

Chris.

Have you seen this thread?

Yes, I have seen that video on you tube. Thats a pretty cool setup, but I'm more interested in controller on/off times for pumps at different times of day for a a determined amount of time for each cycle.

An on-board RTC using the Time and TimeAlarms libraries might be a good place to start.

It doesn’t have to be that precise, you can do it with mills. A Real Time Clock can make it on the money. Yes it’s doable. A lot of the relays that you find for the Arduino have reverse logic. They are off when the pin is HIGH (NC) and on when the pin is LOW (NO).

There is a jumper that can be removed so you can power the repay coils from an external power source and not put such a load on your Arduino.

Attached are a couple of the relay boards.

Relay x 16.jpg

Relay x 8.jpg