Warning light System for a Boat

Im working on a EMD Project for class and my idea was to create a warning light system for my airboat. Im running a small block chevy motor with Faria gauges and sending units like the one below

http://www.classicairboats.com/Sending-Unit-Temperature-Faria-20825.Item.html

My idea is when the motor gets up to a temperature of 220 it will trigger a yellow led then when it gets to 230 have a red led come on and if it gets to 240 have it flash the red led. Then maybe do the same type of thing for oil pressure and voltage. So this way I don't have to stare at my gauges while driving the boat.

How would I go about wiring something like this and what all would I need to make it work? This is my first time using an ardino but have programmed with matlab in the past. Im not sure where to find more information on the seding units and how to make them compatible with my arduino uno? Any help would be much appreciated. Thanks

The most important thing to note that when using 12v systems, you need to make sure the highest voltage on any input is 5v.

What type of temperature sensor are you using?

The basic code is to read the temperature then use it to select the colour LED by looking at a range of value bands.

If temp between 220 and 230 turn on yellow If temp between 230 and 240 turn on red If > 240 flash red

Weedpharma

Mr. Google says that these “Faria” sending units (temp, pressure, fuel … everything) give a varying resistance in the range ~25ohms to ~200 or ~25 to ~1K ohm.

dhpt99:
How would I go about wiring something like this and what all would I need to make it work? This is my first time using an ardino but have programmed with matlab in the past. Im not sure where to find more information on the seding units and how to make them compatible with my arduino uno? Any help would be much appreciated.

First thing would be: Identify your sensor and find the datasheet showing the technical specifications.