warning lights when two buttons clicked

Hi all,

I’m a complete newbie to arduino and not a well programmer, but I hope there is some out who can help.

What I’m trying to do ?

I intend to use arduino to control the lightning of my motorcycle.
Currently, I’m trying to implement the control of the flashlights. I will use the left button for the left flash, the right button for the right flash, an when both buttons were clicked the warning lights should turn on.

But I got stuck with the implementation of the warning lights. I have no idea of how to check, if two buttons were clicked at the same time.

In the past I already had problems to figure out of how to implement a click instead of the status “button is pressed” or “button is not pressed”. That I solved by comparing the status of the current status with the last status of the loop.

But due to the main loop and the microseconds arduino needs to run through one loop, the following condition won’t work. You’ll never realease both buttons at exactly the same time:

if (leftClick == HIGH && lastLeftClick == LOW && rightClick == HIGH && lastRightClick == LOW) …

Has anyone a solution for this ?

Thanks,
Hoshi

The current status of my sketch looks as follows:

// Included Libraries
#include <Bounce.h>

// Define Input / Output
#define leftButton 8
#define rightButton 11
#define leftLED 9
#define rightLED 10

// Variables independent from flashlight
long blinkInterval = 750;       // interval at which to blink (milliseconds)

// Variables left flashlight
int LEDstateLF = LOW;           // will store status of left flashlight LED status
int toggleLF = LOW;             // will store if flashlight is turned on or off
int lastLeftClick = LOW;        // will store status of last click
long previousMillisLF = 0;      // will store time left flash blinked last time

// Variables right flashlight
int LEDstateRF = LOW;           // will store status of left flashlight LED status