Water flow sensor to volt free contact via relay?

I am a total newbie to Arduino but think it could help out with some equipment we need so please be gentle.

I need to control some mobile dosing pumps to dose chemical input based on water throughput.

I am currently using a standard water meter with reed switch that gives a non volt contact when the magnet closes the switch and then breaks this contact as the magnet moves past.

The dosing pump reads these contacts and does the dosing calculation bit pretty well and we get good results. The trouble is the water meters are very heavy and cumbersome and the kit need to be very mobile.

I am looking at hall effect meters but these cannot replicate the same open\closed volt free contact.

My idea was to build a small flow measuring device that counted the pulses from the hall effect flow meter (relatively easy it seems) and then every say 100 hall effect pulses momentarily closed a relay (opening it again almost instantly). The momentary closing of the relay would provide the volt free contact circuit I needed (I think)

We could even link it with an lcd to monitor flow rates.

Is this feasible as any programming would need to keep running as we might need thousands of contacts for a job and near in mind as yet I have never programed anything like this in my life.

Thanks in advance.

I would start with an Arduino UNO, LCD shield with buttons (so you can change dosing), and a flow sensor from ebay.
And ofcourse a 7.5volt (or 9volt) regulated plugin supply for the DC socket.
You also might need a one- or four relay board if your pump is mains powered.
Since you're new to Arduino, start with the examples in the IDE.
You will quickly discover that it's not as hard as it seems.
Then try to write a simple sketch, and expand it to what you want it to do.
Help is always here.
Leo..

Thanks,