Water Gun Race - Is it doable?

HI Guys,

I should start off by saying that I haven't really worked with Arudino very much, at the moment I don't even own one. However, I've been thinking of a project over the past week or so and have been wondering if it's possible using an Arduino. By "possible" I mean possible for a beginner like me to do. I have just about zero experience with circuitry however, I am a computer programmer so the programming part of the project shouldn't be much of an issue.

The project I'm wanting to pursue is a water gun race game, like the ones at a carnival.

Reference Images

The way it would work is as follows:

"Customers" pay to play the game: When that happens the operator would hit a button that "activates" the gun. This would probably activate a solenoid valve either 12V or 24V (maybe this one: http://www.lowes.com/pd_50161-74985-57100_0__?productId=1091027)

Once the game is ready to be played, the operator hits the "play button" which would start a 120V shallow well pump (something like this: http://www.homedepot.com/p/Wayne-1-HP-Shallow-Well-Jet-Pump-SWS100/203668878) that would begin pumping water from a reservoir to each activated gun (guns that aren't activated would be blocked by a closed solenoid valve that I mentioned before). I was thinking that the 120V pump might be able to be activated using a PowerSwitch Tail II (http://www.powerswitchtail.com/Pages/default.aspx).

When water from the gun hits its target, another solenoid valve would open and a secondary pump (that was activated when the game started) would begin to fill a clear tube with water. The tube that fills with water first is the winner, sound will play and a light would flash, then the water would drain and the game would reset.

Upon typing this post, the project seems even more ambitious than I had originally imagined in my head. Maybe some of this could be more mechanical instead to simplify the circuitry?

Thanks in advance

Sean