Water Leak Detection Project

I am a newb with Arduino. I have a project I would like to build and would appreciate any advice on how to do this. I have a vacation house in Vermont and I'd like to be able to monitor for burst water pipes. My idea is to have a wireless transmitter with a moisture sensor connected to it under each sink and a few other places in the house. Ideally the transmitter would be battery powered and be able to last 6 months without changing the battery. If a sensor detects water it would transmit to a receiver connected to an Arduino. The Arduino would be connected to the internet send out an email or text message. I'd like to do this without the Arduino connected to a computer.

I looked at the XBee (I'm in the process of building tweet-a-watt), but I think they will draw too much power to last 6 months on a battery. I saw some small 315MHz transmitters and receivers on Sparkfun that might work:

If I went with these 315MHZ transmitters would they interfere with each other, or is there a way to ID them. I'd probably have 5 transmitters the house.

What would make the project even better if each transmitter also had a temp sensor connected to it. Then setup the Arduino to alert me if the temperature falls below a set point, like 38 degrees.

What I'd like to know is what hardware should use for this project? Are there other projects around that do pieces of this and thus let me use and learn from that code. Is it possible to get the Arduino to send me an email or SMS text to my phone (without being hooked up to a PC). I guess if email would work, I could just send an email to my phone and that would show up as a text message.

I'd appreciate any suggestions and advice.

--Scott

There is a pretty nice device called a Sensaphone that can monitor temp and various other inputs and can dial multiple phone numbers when an event occurs. It also detects power outages and noise levels.