Water sensing Christmas tree program - adding features

Hey guys! I am VERY new to using arduino’s and this is my first project but I think I have done pretty well for myself. I started out with this guide here but I wanted to add a few features, and change a few things. Basically it is a capacitive sensor in the water and when the capacitance drops below normal a relay will blink the lights once every 10 seconds and if below a fair level will blink the lights on the tree to say “Water, Water, Water” in morse code!!! Awesome!

FYI: tldr warning. You can skip down to the bold text if you don’t want to read this all

Firstly I made my sensor a little bit different. I used copper tape used for snail deterrent on a piece of clear plastic (just the DIY laminate stuff without anything inside it). I made two strips of tape about 1/4" wide about 1/4" apart. I soldered a lead to each and then just attached to the leads. Then I covered this all with packing tape as if it was just in the water the capacitance wouldn’t change. This should also allow me to make new sensors cheaply and quickly if needed.

Secondly, I have NO idea what I am doing when it comes to electrical diagrams (my father-in-law helped do most of the design and implementation) so when I went to the local electronics store and handed the guy the diagram at the post and asked for the components I just bought what he gave me. I guess he sold me the wrong/different relay. I’m pretty sure he warned me it was wrong but said I shouldn’t have any problems. With the original code the lights would be off when there was water, and blink on and off when it was low. I was able to switch the code out and make it work the way I want. I figured out this is what he was probably talking about.