Watercooling monitoring and control

Hello everyone,

This is my first one topic on the forum, so greetings everyone. I am mounting a watercooling loop for my PC and would like your advice on my project. I would like to control a couple of fans and a pump according to both CPU, GPU and /or water temperature. After several mails with my motherboard company (Asrock Taichi X370) I can't control my fan with my GPU/water temperature even with software like Speedfan. So I'm thinking of using an Arduino to monitor and that. For the software part I´m not worried, I'm a Java developer so with a bit of forum research and Google I should be OK. Though, for the hardware part I'm kinda lost:

1) Which Arduino will be enough for the project? I will have 2 PWM fans, 1 PWM pump and up to 8 fans from 4 pins fan controller / hub to be controlled. I will also need to plug 2/3 temperatures and 1 tachometer sensor. 2) Will I need any other hardware like resistance, transistors etc? I've seen some project using it but I don't know for mine. That is totally out of my knowledge. 3) Any general advice? I'm a complete noob in the topic, wasn't even a developper one year ago ^^''.

Thank you for reading my message, and enjoy your day ! Lleweilyn

The fans and pump will need drivers as no Arduino can directly drive that sort of load. For pumps that rotate in only one direction a MOSFET (with a couple of resistors and a diode) driver would suffice. To choose a MOSFET the rated voltage and stall current of each part needs to be known. It depends on the fan if it can PWM controlled or not.