Wavetable synthesis with AD9850 DDS

Sorry, I've posted this inside an old thread, but I figure it might get better response in it's own thread...

Can you create complex waveforms using the AD9850? For instance, if you have a set of wavetables on the arduino, can you get the chip to play those complex waveforms under the arduino's control (rather than just sine waves)? Or if that's not possible, can you manipulate the AD9850's sine waves to appear like complex waveforms?

Sorry if that's a stupid question, but I'm new to this, and it's something I'm stuck on.

Also if it can't make complex waveforms, is there another chip/signal generator/oscillator/etc that can that I can control with an arduino?

Cheers in advance

Pete

Can you create complex waveforms using the AD9850?

No, sin waves only.

What frequency range do you need?

Bugger! Anyone know of any other chips or otherwise that i could control with the arduino to kick out complex waveforms? I was reading earlier about cirrus logic chips, the CS4742 in particular. What dyou think?

The simplest would be to use the arduino and an external A/D to send out samples. Then if you need more processing power use another arduino.

I can't see how a CS4247 will do what you want.

What is your application?

Wavetable synthesiser with a Mega2560, but I'm merging between the wave samples. Currently this is controlled by a pot on A0, and the location of the pot decides firstly: which two wave samples are being used, and secondly: what ratio of either sample is played (so the arduino does some maths to work this out). Currently I am outputting this though an 8bit r2r ladder DAC on port C.