Wearable Device Arduino Questions

Hello,

Thank you for taking a look at this and offering me some help... I'm a little new to the Arduino world, but looking forward to using this as part of one of my projects.

I'm planning on creating a simple wearable device that blinks an LED based off of commands it receives from the internet. I plan on using the following...

• Arduino Pro Mini 3.3 V
  • ESP8266 Wifi-adapter

From doing a little initial research, I learned that the Arduino Pro Mini is not enough to power the ESP8266. Can anyone clarify this? I need this to be a wearable device, so I can't use another power source as that would make this entire thing bulky. I plan on powering the Arduino through a small LIPO battery.

If this hardware isn't appropriate for this, is there something else that may be more suitable? I've read that you don't even need a pro mini, and I can just use the ESP8266 chip on it's own to accomplish something like this?

Thanks.

The ESP8266 is a very capable microcontroller on its own. What exact ESP8266 module do you have? Why do you need a Pro Mini?

I wasn't sure if I needed a pro mini, but it seems like the ESP8266 can survive on its own, which is probably enough for my project.

I'm thinking of getting an ESP01.

A similar topic was discussed here not long ago. It could be worth searching for it.

The ESP-01 will most certainly perform the task on its own. To program it with the Arduino IDE having installed the ESP8266 support in the Library Manager, you use a purpose-built USB programming adapter:

Aliexpress item