Wearable motion music controllers

Hi all, this is my first post in the Arduino forums.
I'm a university student studying computer science and would like guidance on a semester project.
I'm reasonably good at programming and can learn from documentation, but have minimal experience with Arduino in general.

I want to create 2 to 4 identical wearable motion sensors. My requirements are:

• Small and lightweight, so that it is suitable for dancing if attached to a costume or strapped around the wrist

• Can measure and log speed, velocity, acceleration, orientation

• Real-time, wireless sensor output to a music synthesizer, either within Arduino or an external program on a computer

• Doesn't have to be instantaneous, a few seconds of delay is fine. Of course lower is better

• I'm willing to learn how to build a simple synthesizer from scratch

• Optional: distance measurement between two sensors. I'm aware of the difficulties, but am wondering if it would be possible for the following use case:

• Measures a range of 0 feet (right next to each other) to 2 or 3 feet

• Accuracy of about 1/2 or 1/4 foot, exact distance not required

• Real-time but not instantaneous, a few seconds of delay is fine

Essentially I want to build wearable motion music controllers (not necessarily MIDI controllers). I've attached a rough drawing for further clarity.

Questions:

• Would the Arduino Nano 33 BLE Sense Nano board be a good fit for this project? If so what is a good battery to use?
  • Should I use bluetooth or the NRF24L01 transceiver module? If I use NRF, does it require additional soldering or wiring?
  • Is there a way to "pipe" sensor outputs into an external music synthesizer, without converting to MIDI?
  • Is this possible to build and program within 1 month (not including learning time)?
  • Are there any other factors I haven't considered for this project?