Web Client not working consistently

I’m still an Arduino newbie (and new to programming in general), so please bear with me.

I’m having a recurring problem of not getting updates of sensor readings posted to a web server. It will work as expected the first time, sometimes a few times, then it stops working right. The Arduino suggests that it thinks everything is getting updated successfully, but the web server isn’t actually getting everything. It posts two variables to the web server by hitting a php page, which sticks them into a database and sends me an email so I can easily see the update happened as expected.

The overall sketch is much bigger than what I’ve posted below, but this is the part that actually handles the web update. The rest involves the sensor, the LCD screen, and getting (and updating) the time from the web.

My big question is: why does it update the first time, or first few times, but then stop working right?

Is there something additional I need to do? What is client.flush(), and would it do anything for me? Should I add that to the sketch? Is there something else I’m missing? I’ve searched through a lot of threads for similar projects and can’t see anything different about what others are doing (there are a lot of temperature sensor projects, and a few greenhouse temp/humidity projects).

long int deviceID = 100002;      // set the unique device ID used to update the remote database

void updateDB()  {

// if there's incoming data from the net connection.
  // send it to the LCD.  This is for debugging
  // purposes only:
  if (client.available()) {
    char clientRead = client.read();
  }

if (currentTime - lastConnectionTime > 120000)  {
    dbUpdated = false;
  }

if (hour(locNow) == 9 && minute(locNow) == 0)  {                            // update the remote DB daily at 9:00 Local time.
      dbClientConnect();
  }