Weird problem with 595 shift registers

Hi I am new to Arduino (or any other computer programming for that matter) and have built a project to read the oil temp on a Porsche oil temp sensor and display on a LED 4 digit 7 segment display with 4 74hc595 shift registers. I have written a program and it works, but is spuratic, unless I put my finger on the clock wire to the shift registers. Or when the jumper wires were full length I could just put my finger near the clock wire and it would work fine. I tried wrapping the wire in aluminum foil thinking some RF interference was causing the problem, but no difference . then I shortened the wires as short as possible thinking the wire length was slowing the data transmission, didn’t fix it, except now I have to physically touch the clock wire for the data to transmit properly. I have tried another Arduino Nano and does the same thing, I have ordered another display but it takes two weeks to get it. I have resoldiered all the connections and done all I can think of, maybe a problem with my sketch, I’m not well versed in this stuff at all. and am a bit surprised I got it to work at all. If anyone has any detailed advise I would certainly appreciate it.

Best regards Skip

PorSCHE_3.ino (8.23 KB)

Porschetech3:
... now I have to physically touch the clock wire for the data to transmit properly.

Can you post a diagram of your circuit and a picture of your setup, that might help spot the problem.

Yours,
TonyWilk

It sounds like you are not having any ground connection between the 595’s and the Arduino.

595’s is idiot proof - i’ve never managed to fuck anything up, regardless of implementation. As long as the connections are done correct, it’s a complete no-brainer.

// Per.

Zapro:
It sounds like you are not having any ground connection between the 595's and the Arduino.