Well Recovery

Hello, I’m a retired electrical engineer, but no Arduino experience. I’m designing a tool to remove junk from a water well. The standard tools for this work are crude mechanical devices that attempt to grab broken pipes and wires with various spring-loaded teeth and corkscrew devices. What I’m looking for is something a lot more versatile and controllable. Arduino will be overkill for controlling a few actuators and servo motors, but why not. I’ll probably have other more complex projects in the future, and this is a good first one.

My problem is time. I need to get this done in a few weeks. I’m looking for someone who I can pay to do the Arduino part for me. I’ve already got a well camera on 1000 ft of RG-6 coaxial cable, and I can build the assembly to go down the well. I can add another cable, if necessary, but it would be nice to send the control signals through the same cable as the camera video. The minimum well-bore is 6 inches, so plenty of room for a battery, no need to send power. Two actuators should be plenty, one to grab the PVC pipes, another to cut the pipes below the grab point (see photo). That will require a lot of force, but not much power.

Where can I find a student or professional to help with this?

macquigg:
I'm looking for someone who I can pay to do the Arduino part for me.

Then you need to ask in the Gigs and Collaborations section of the Forum.

...R

Another unusual project. Interesting stuff, but I don't have any idea how you would share the coaxial cable between the Arduino and the camera. What kind of actuators do you anticipate using?

broken riser & cable loop.png

wildbill:
What kind of actuators do you anticipate using?

i'm thinking of some kind of servos or bi-directional DC motors. There are basically two kinds of motion needed - rotation to a set angle, like closing shears to cut through the pipe, and continuous rotation, like twisting a corkscrew in and out of a wad of cable (see the following photo).