WeMos D1 mini - attachInterrupt causing Reset

This is my first time using WeMos D1 mini… I used interrupts with Arduino uno and worked fine but,
sssuming this code (it’s just a short example…)

#define PinSensorePIR D7

void setup() {
    Serial.begin(115200);
    Serial.println("Setup");
    Serial.println("pinMode");
    pinMode(PinSensorePIR, INPUT_PULLUP); 
    Serial.println("attachinterrupt");
    attachInterrupt(digitalPinToInterrupt(PinSensorePIR), PIRStateChanged, CHANGE);
    Serial.println("End Setup");
}

void loop() {
  Serial.println("Loop");
}

void PIRStateChanged(void) {
  Serial.print("PIRStateChanged");
}

I get this error (and WeMos reset repeat) in the serial monitor!

Setup
pinMode
attachinterrupt
ISR not in IRAM!

Abort called

>>>stack>>>

ctx: cont
sp: 3ffffdb0 end: 3fffffc0 offset: 01b0
3fffff60:  3ffe86bf 00ffffff 0103a8c0 40201a45  
3fffff70:  3ffe85c1 3ffee3b0 3ffee3e0 3ffee448  
3fffff80:  3ffe84e0 3ffee3b0 3ffee3e0 40100452  
3fffff90:  3ffe84e0 3ffee3b0 3ffee3e0 402011cc  
3fffffa0:  3fffdad0 00000000 3ffee418 402020a0  
3fffffb0:  feefeffe feefeffe 3ffe8510 40100745  
<<<stack<<<

ets Jan  8 2013,rst cause:2, boot mode:(3,6)

load 0x4010f000, len 1384, room 16 
tail 8
chksum 0x2d
csum 0x2d
v8b899c12
~ld

what should I do to resolve the problem?
thanks in advance for help

Don’t print from the ISR - Serial requires interrupts and they are disabled whilst executing your ISR

Get a global flag volatile bool isrTriggered = false; and set it to true in the ISR

void PIRStateChanged(void) {
  isrTriggered = true;
}

and check the flag in the loop.

void loop() {
  if (isrTriggered) {
    Serial.println("bingo");
    isrTriggered = false;
  }
}

in boards manager, make sure you have a version 2.5.0 of esp 8266

that will solve your issue

https://arduino-esp8266.readthedocs.io/en/latest/reference.html?highlight=attachinterrupt#digital-io

ISRs need to have ICACHE_RAM_ATTR before the function definition.

1 Like

Juraj: