What am I missing? Nano vs Mega!

Hi guys

Im quite new to programming so am quite limited in my experience. I have an issue with using the mega board. It works just fine when uploaded to a Duo board, but when I upload it to the mega the buttons in my program dont work at all except one of them (fill button). I thought all of these boards are compatible, as they are labeled the same, but obviously not. If anyone could help me out with this i would greatly appreciate it.

Thanks

P.S sorry if this should have been posted in another section, but this one seemed to make sense to me.

BIG_BUTTON_MOD_LED_PIN_A3.ino (19 KB)

int BigButton = 19;
int BankLED = 17;

Neither the Nano nor the Mega have a pin 19 or 17 label. I think this is the problem with your port. Try using the analog designations instead, A0-A5. Try:

int BigButton = A5;
int BankLED = A3;

You buried a secret pin number in the code, unbury it with a declaration and use Ax number instead:

CHANNELSELECT= analogRead(2);

That may also break portability, use

const byte <pin name you give it> A2;
  CHANNELSELECT= analogRead(<pin name you give it>);

You probably buried more literal pin numbers in your code, but it’s too big for me to comb through, you have to look for them because as you know, they don’t generate any error.

Thanks for the reply aarg. What do you mean by “buried”? sorry if its a stupid question. The channel select knob is actually one of the things that work when porting. Is it still worth me changing it as you described?

aarg:
Neither the Nano nor the Mega have a pin 19 or 17 label.

The Mega certainly has - they go all way up to 50 or more.

The analog pins can also be referenced by numbers - but that varies from board to board because the analog pins are numbered after the digital pins. For example on an Uno A0 is the same as 14. You can find out the value with

Serial.println(A0);

...R

gface83: