What Arduino to get??

Hey all
Im currently trying to decide if i should get the duemilanove or the mega. Price is about the same

This will be my first arduino and i have no experience with them whatsoever :slight_smile:
So is the mega harder to use than the duemilanove, whats the main difference between the 2?
Ill be using it to control 4 brushless esc's(speed has to be variable from stop to full throttle) , 6-7 relays and 2 or 3 sensors (will these be hooked up to the analog input?) for a Rov

Any help will be greatly appreciated :slight_smile:
Thanks
Philipp

I find it strange that the Arduino Mega and the Duemilanove are about the same price. Usually they differ by about $10-$15. Better check if the Mega is really what you expect and has an USB interface onboard. If you link both, we can check it for you.

What you want to hook up to it can be done with any Arduino, Duemilanove, Uno or Mega, although without knowing what sensors you want to connect we can't tell if they use analogue or digital inputs. Link the data-sheets or the item in the shop to check them.

As to the difference between the Mega and the Duemilanove, the Mega has more ports and more memory, but programming them is pretty much the same. However the usual shields designed for the Duemilanove won't fit on the Mega. With your requirement you will need some external components to drive your relays, where a ready made interface-shield can be very handy, specially if you're a beginner at electronics.

Korman

Hey thanks for the reply

Sensors i am planning on using temperature, light and one to measure water depth sensors

Also electronics arent that readily available where i live and ordering online isnt very reliable here.... :-/
so I think like you said a duemilanove with maybe a sensor shield would be easier (would this be the right shield for the job?)