what are suitable Arduino temperature sensors??

m looking to create a temperature sensor that triggers an alarm when a heat source directly touches the temperature sensor, e.g a hot water spillage, what type of sensor would be suitable for this purpose??
Please help as it's for a school project and i'm very new to this :)))
thankyou for any help you can offer :slight_smile:

a thermistor would work.

That Kind of depends on the rest of the design in your Project. A DHt11 or DHT22 DS18B20 are simple to use and only require one analog pin. However, they give values between 0 and 1023 only and are not exactly accurate. If your Project already has I2C implemented or you can include it, I prefer a MCP9808. There are lots of sensors and each have their place. You have to decide what your requirements are.

The above is misleading. A DS18B20 is not an analogue device and can go on any available pin.. It also gives you up to 12bit resolution and in plain English. Having said that, a thermistor should suffice, as it would seem that all you need is an indication of a substantial change from ambient.

the above is misleading. a A DS18B20 sensor is an analog device and must go on an analog pin.

a A DS18B20 MODULE can be SPI or I2C, and produces an output between 0 & 1023

1. There are 3 posts above your post -- which one is misleading?

2. What is the traditional (accepted/defined) definition of an analog sensor/device?

3. What is this device with this registration/type number: DS18B20?

4. What is the traditional (accepted/defined) definition of a Module? For example:
    (1) This is DS3231 Device/Chip
    ds3231chip.png

(2) This is DS3231 Module
ds3231Pic.png

ds3231chip.png

ds3231Pic.png

GolamMostafa:

1. There are 3 posts above your post – which one is misleading?