What code is more useful in this kind of situation?

Hi, I am a newbie at arduino. I am working on this project that is using an IF-ELSE IF command.
The situation is when the IF statement is satisfied the RELAY would go HIGH together with the LCD message. Then when the ELSE IF statement is satisfied a somewhat alarm with LCD message should be activated.

Here is the problem: When the RELAY is activated or goes HIGH, it has to stay HIGH all the time the device is being used not being affected by the changing of the statements from IF to ELSE IF.

My problem is: When the IF and ELSE IF changes, the RELAY is affected too.

if (distanceCM <= 5) {

digitalWrite (RELAY, HIGH);
LCD.setCursor(3,0);
LCD.print(“SIDE STAND:”);

LCD.setCursor(0,1);
LCD.print(" LATCHED");

}

else if (distanceCM > 5) {

digitalWrite (LED1, HIGH);
LCD.setCursor(3,0);
LCD.print(“SIDE STAND:”);

LCD.setCursor(0,1);
LCD.print(" UNLATCHED");

tone(Buzzer, 400); // play 400 Hz tone for 500 ms
delay(500);
tone(Buzzer, 800); // play 800Hz tone for 500ms
delay(500);
delay(500);
delay(500);
noTone(Buzzer);

}
}

I hope some one with a kind heart will help a newbie like me :slight_smile: TIA!

To get help, you must show us your complete sketch. Attach your code using the </> icon on the left side of the posting menu.

complete sketch :wink:

It is best to respond in a new post rather re-dueing your original post.

Hi, I am a newbie at arduino. I am working on this project. I choose to use an IF and ELSE IF command because i am using a Ultrasonic Sensor.

The situation is: When the RELAY is switched to HIGH, it must stay like that. Never affected even though the other statement is satisfied.

The problem is: When the IF statement is satisfied, the RELAY is switched to HIGH together with an LCD message. But when the ELSE IF statement is satisfied the RELAY is switched to LOW. How can I keep the Relay switched into HIGH once it was activated and keep the ELSE IF statement working at the same time?