What device should I use?

Hello everyone, please excuse the simplicity of this question, but I'm new to electronics and I've been scratching my head for a couple of days. I have a borad through which I can control two nema steppers with joystick modules, but due to space constrains, I can only use one joystick in my panel, so I was thinking of splitting the joystick X and Y cables into two different pairs (each pair corresponding to each one of the motors) and then use a pushbutton to select which one of the motors I want to control and display the one currently being controlled. Question is what exactly should I use to do this? The piece I'm missing is the one with question marks. Please note that the wires are just a representation:

|500x261

Also, I don't need code or anything because I want to learn, I just would like to know what I need to keep learning.

Thanks a lot in advance!

Am I correct in thinking that the board you already have takes the outputs from two potentiometers to control the motors?

I ask it like this because a joystick usually has two potentiometers and 2 joysticks would thus have four potentiometers.

Perhaps you can post a link to the datasheet for the existing controller board?

If the board connects directly to potentiometers then any Arduino solution would probably need to use the Arduino to control digital potentiometers that have the same spec as the existing manual potentiometers.

Assuming it is possible to produce suitable signals for your controller board it should certainly be possible to use a switch to select which motor you want to control.

...R

The joysticks I've used only have 2 potentiometers, one for x another for y.

It would help to know what hardware you have. My guess is that the joystick connects to the arduino and not to the motor controller board.