What do each of the 4 stepper motor wires do?

I'm relatively new to electronics- I have a question about the power given to a stepper motor. Is the power a constant flow, or does it need to be modulated? I would think it needs only constant power from the two positive and negative wires and the other two wires to send control signals.

I've looked all over for an answer, but everywhere it just says "the stepper driver will take care of powering it!" How do they work?

2 pair of wires. Therefore 4 wires. One pair of wire are terminals of a wire coil. The other pair of wire are terminals of a different wire coil.

When you drive a current through the coil, a magnetic field is produced in the coil. The rotating thing (rotor) inside the stepper has magnets added at various spots. When the coil is generating a magnetic field, it can make at least 1 of those magnets become attracted to the coil's field. Pulling the magnet means also making the rotor move - that's because the magnet is attached to the rotor. But, once the magnet reaches the strongest attraction point....it can't go anywhere anymore....stuck there. So, the trick is to then turn off this coil's magnetic field (by removing the current).....and then put current into the other coil. This other coil is located at a different spot/location. The magnetic field from this coil can then pull one or some magnets along....to make the rotor move (step) again.

This is the simplest case. There are other configurations. But it's basically the clever usage of magnetic fields and clever placement of magnets on a rotating structure .... to push or pull the magnets around in some sort of sequence. It's like 'follow the leader' sort of thing. A magnetic field is the leader, and the magnets on the rotor follow it around (get drawn to it) like sheep.