What flux to get!??!?!?!?!?!?

So I am trying to solder a wire to a PSB board.
Here is a image of a different person doing it: http://www.instructables.com/files/deriv/F6G/IBR1/GREPYEFM/F6GIBR1GREPYEFM.LARGE.jpg
But when I try to do it the solder does not stick to the PCB.
What flux would be best for this?
I am fairly new to this and if you could possibly send me a link to where I can buy the one I need, that would help :slight_smile:

So basically I am asking is, what flux would be best for what I am trying to do?
Are all fluxes the same? Are some better than others?

I am new to using flux, and is it also possible I could pick it up from a store like radio shack?

Also if the liquid flux is good for this project, will it be good for other things? Like connecting to wires together?

http://www.amazon.com/Solder-Flux-Liquid-2oz-10-4202/dp/B004RIF3BM/ref=pd_sim_hi_12
http://www.radioshack.com/product/index.jsp?productId=12582876

Also if the liquid flux is good for this project, will it be good for other things? Like connecting to wires together?

Yes

Is this flux any good?
http://www.ebay.com/itm/NO-CLEAN-LIQUID-FLUX-FOR-BGA-GPU-CPU-REWORK-REFLOW-/140506246517?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item20b6d32d75

radio shack has some paste flux and its not as easy to handle as a liquid flux pen, and is messy as all get out, but is usually more agressive than the liquid

typically the flux in your solder should be enough, here are some tips

clean the pads, use a nylon scowering pad (you know those green ones) to clean off oxidation, that is probably most of your problem

tin your wires, tin your pads and just melt the two together

if you get liquid get it in a pen, they have them on digikey and mouser, its much easier to deal with when its in a felt tip marker

I use the kester stuff, its good but could be just a tad bit stronger

I was using sand paper for a while but then I realized it started to sand down the copper or the metal.

Is sand paper a bad thing to use?