What happened to all the big names?

I'm not sure whether this should be here or in 'Bar Sport' - but it is a serious point......

( edit - I put it in 'General Electronics' , but the moderator - perhaps wisely -moved it here)

Not that many years ago many makers of well-respected instruments and semiconductor devices seem to have had some sort of collective attack of madness.

Why?

For example HP became Agilent, then split again into Avago and Keysight.

Motorola -> On-semi

Marconi -> IFR

Siemens -> Infineon.

Philips -> NXP.

etc.

I'm not a marketing expert, but it seems to be daft to throw away a world respected name for something completely unknown....

Coca-cola or KFC or Ford or........... etc wouldn't dream of it .

or VW ( ah - hmmm - perhaps they're thinking about it ).

At least in the UK when the post office was rebranded as 'Consignia' (?!) there was such an outcry that they dropped the idea.

Try again - why ? - pass me a marketing guru .

Allan

I cannot address all of the changes but I can outline what happened with HP.

Once Bill and Dave passed, the road at HP became a bit bumpy. Personal computers and printing paid the bills but the vertical integration that previously supported the business so well in the past, became a large part of operation overhead. Building PC’s and putting ink and toner in cartridges didn’t need all those different divisions that had accumulated in the process of building a test and measurement empire.