What hardware combo is best for quadcopter project

I'm just starting out on a quadcopter project with the hope of learning a lot of useful things about programming as it pertains to autonomous robotics. I'm wondering if I could get some advice on a good place to start as far as hardware is concerned. I don't want a ready-made kit because I want this to be a learning experience, which will require that I get my hands dirty with installing and tweaking a set of libraries. Maybe I'm going about this all wrong, and in that case feel free to let me know a better approach.
I want to start a build with components that provide a base on which to make expansions of autonomous features as the project progresses. Is the board I'm looking for here the Arduino mega? And what are some good hardware combinations I can find on a budget?
Look forward to hearing what others have to say about a good place to start on this. Any feedback is appreciated.

Two of these on the same day :slight_smile:

This is not the best way to approach the issue. If you want to learn coding, you don't want to start from scratch with a blank Arduino and a bunch of parts. Buy a robot that is already put together and learn to program it at a high level.

Read the responses on this other thread, these are almost the same question... I give you the same advice. Probably want to start at a higher level.
http://forum.arduino.cc/index.php?topic=207608.0

Hey that is pretty helpful. I do understand what you are saying about the basics of flying rc as the proper place to start. With that said, what is a good ready-made quad to start with that allows me to mess with the programming and add autonomous features as I learn more?

Thanks for the help with this.

aberg004: