What is the feasiblilty of a Wake On Lan device

Hello all, this is my first post on this forum as I am just starting out with Arduino. My question is how feasible is this:

An Arduino that would send a WoL package when the lights are turned on in a room. My plan to do this was by adding a photoresistor to the Arduino that would be used to measure amount of light at regular time intervals by analogWrite() 'ing the voltage of a constant current to the analog input. When the lights are on, I expect the voltage to increase. I would set a threshold that above, it would send the WoL packet and below it would just keep measuring the voltage every second or so.

Thanks,
RM

Very feasible, An UNO with ethernetshield and a LDR should be sufficient.

but you only told half the story. What should happen when the light drops in the room?

or consider robustness? Imagine a car passing by shining in the room with its head lights. Or moonlight?

That's great to hear. But you are right about it only being half the story. When the light drops in the room, I expect nothing to happen (I'll just turn the computer off myself). If I do more research and find a packet thats like "Sleep on Lan" then maybe I'll add that functionality in later. As for the headlight, I plan on making a 3 second delay (or however long seems correct) between the jump in voltage and the packet being sent. For moonlight, I expect to have the threshold above an amount that would trigger it (plus the room it's going in does not have too many windows to allow outside ambient light in.

This code will help you to read analog pin at specific values a relay will turn on/off
Just add your Ethernet shield code to send WOL command
By the way you can wake up your PC from serial port USB too :wink: without using Ethernet

int lightPin = A0;
void setup(){
  Serial.begin(9600);
}
void loop(){
  int lightReading = analogRead(lightPin); 
  Serial.println(lightReading);
if (lightReading <= 35) {
   digitalWrite (6,HIGH);
 }