What is the relationship between potenziometer resistence and pin input current?

I’m a newbie, sorry for the very basic question. I’m doing a simple circuit wtih Arduino Uno (and Micro) where I need to make an analogRead from a potentiometer. Reading the datasheet (and other sources) the suggested potentiometer should be 10kΩ. Being curious I wanted to understand the reason for that value, and I’ve read many explanations: 1) a higher resistence becomes a high impedence seen from the input, making it more sensible to interferences / current fluctuations; 2) a higher resistence would reduce too much the input current, making the ADC work worse (because of the S/H cap charging, etc.).

Both the exaplantions assume a clear understanding of the relationship between the pot resistence and the input, which it doesn’t look to me a simple voltage divider situation.

Here below I depitcs three states of the pot (full open, half, full closed) as if it was one or two resistences

How the the pot resistence influences the input pin in these three cases? I consider them as distinct cased since the position of the pot resistence (in relation to the pin) changes when the wiper moves, isn’t it?

Explanation 2 assumes that current leaking into the pin passes through the potentiometer resistence. If it’s higher less current is drawn. But, for example, in the top case I thought that a higher resistence would let more current flow into the pin rather then to ground…

I suppose someting is wrong in my understanding of current paths :slight_smile:

The higher the resistance the lower the current.

The input resistance of an Arduino analog input > 100 mega ohms.

A 10k potentiometer is a good trade off for input stability readings.

A 100nF ceramic capacitor from the analog input pin to GND can help reduce noise too.