What LCD display module for my 1st Arduino project?

Hi,

I'm completely new to the Arduino world and would like to do my first electronics project.

1. What exact requirements should I look for when buying a LCD display module for an Arduino project?

2. Are there different kinds of complexity based on the controller? I read that Arduino suggests using LCDs with a Hitachi controller. But what if the desired LCD display has another controller?

Lucas

bikemaniac: 1. What exact requirements should I look for when buying a LCD display module for an Arduino project?

What are the requirements of your project? Numeric? Alphanumeric? Graphic? Touch screen?

bikemaniac: 2. Are there different kinds of complexity based on the controller? I read that Arduino suggests using LCDs with a Hitachi controller. But what if the desired LCD display has another controller?

Yes, the Hitachi controller you are referring to is the HD44780. It is a controller for alphanumeric LCDs like these:

http://microcontrollershop.com/product_info.php?products_id=1078

bubulindo:

What are the requirements of your project? Numeric? Alphanumeric? Graphic? Touch screen? [/quote]

I'm looking for alphanumeric only. Maybe a graphical (black/white is sufficient) one without touch screen.

I want to build a dashboard gauge display for my car which has no OBD or OBDII. At the moment I want to display 6-8 different values such as outside temperature, inside temperature, oil pressure, oil temperature, RPMs, voltage, amps and using a standard 4x20 character LCD display would maybe require two in total mounted side by side. Otherwise a larger graphical display which can handle all of thr gauge values. The maximum frontal dimensions are however 175x50 mm.

Lucas

But what if the desired LCD display has another controller?