What resistor with Optpcoupler?

Hi I am quite new to the Adruino world and like many others on here looking for some advice/guidance in understanding data sheets. I have read many posts on here and go over the Ohms law numerous times so beginning to get a little more understanding.

I am trying out building a sound activated flash trigger, seen a few posts on the forum about this so have done as much research as I can but am basically looking for guidance on what resistor to use with my optocoupler.

I have managed to get hold of a SFH618A-2 (http://www.vishay.com/docs/83673/sfh618.pdf) now I will be hooking this up to one of the Arduino digital output pins but obviously need a resistor so I don't damage it. Now where I get confused is on calculating the resistor, the Ohms law principles seem simple if you have all the numbers, but from the datasheet I cant really get the simple figure I require? Now I know I have 5v coming from the Arduino board so there is figure number one, but then cant see a forward voltage although I can see a forward current.

Basically I am after someone walking me through this and how they would calculate the resistor value based on this datasheet. Sorry if this is a really simple newb question but like I say I am new to this and don't want to just guess and blow my components.

Yes you need a resistor
Look at the Electrical characteristics , line INPUT :
Test condition : If = 5mA
Vf = 1,1V Mini - 1,5V maxi

Then you may use these conditions with :
(5 - 1,1)/0.005 = 780 Ohms

But if you read all the datasheet, you can see that it works even with lower If values , then R=1K is OK too
You could use lower resistor value, as long as you stay in the 30mA (safe or arduino output, and safe for the opto too : 60mA maxi), no need to use much current if it works with less :wink:
I would go for any resistor between 760 Ohm and 1,5K

Look in "ELECTRICAL CHARACTERISTICS"

Forward voltage of the "INPUT" is 1.1V at 5mA. That's the LED inside the chip.