What should I buy next?

Hello everyone,

I want to buy a new tool for my workshop. I have those equipments:
-Rigol DS2202A scope
-Class 30V 5A power supply
-Class 968D Soldering station and Heat gun
-A cheap DMM (20€ or sth)

I am thinking of buying a 3D printer or a signal generator. If you have something else in mind please make a recomendation. I have a budget of 350€.
By the way I am studying electrical engineering and I have started this year.

I have had a lot more fun and use from my cheap 3D printer than most any other piece of equipment that I have. For Arduino projects I use the 3D printer a lot to make custom cases and other parts for my projects.

If you intend to keep doing stuff with an Arduino. buy a good function generator which is also be a signal generator for many other uses.
Paul

A cheap 8 bit logic analyzer is a pretty nice tool.

1 Like

Thanks for the answer.

Making custom cases and special parts with a 3D printer is great.
3D printer +1

Thanks for the answer.

Yes I will do stuff wirh arduino.
Function gen +1

Thanks for the answer.
Does it isolate the ground from earth ground? If I connect my wires wrong do I blow up something, like in the oscilloscope? I think it is called ground looping. I am a little bit clumsy so it might not be a good tool for me.

I get more use out of my logic analyzer than I ever did with my scope (before it died). The decoders* that come with the PulseView software are amazingly useful.

*SPI, I2C, UART, IR decoder to name a few of many.

It's a ridiculous cheap tool, although its price went up quite a bit lately.

Thanks for the answer but my scope has builtin RS232, I2C, SPI, and CAN decoder. Also they are very cheap I can buy one of them and it won't effect my budget.

I think that I paid about $18.00 for mine from, probably, Amazon a few years ago. I will say that beyond a doubt it has given me, by far, the best "bang for the buck" of any piece of equipment in my arsenal.