What should I buy?

I am looking to use an Arduino to perform a little logic on a relay. I would like to read the voltage off a serial port on a box and in to a pin on a Arduino and have the Arduino fire an output pin for a given amount of time. I would then have the output pin trigger a relay for another box. I’m decent with scripting and there are plenty of examples so I’m not worried about the code but I’m new to this and I am looking for advice on what Arduino I should purchase. Please offer your advice or details of any similar projects.

Thanks.

What do you mean by "read the voltage off a serial port"?

Specifically I want to use a EAS message from a TFT model 911 to shut off a TV transmitter till the EAS message is over. The TFT has a serial port that will output serial data during an alert message. I don't need to do anything with this message other than detect that it is there at all. I'm looking to get the Arduino to fire a relay for two minutes when it detects voltage coming out of the port. The relay will then be used to shut off the transmitter. The two minute time is the longest those messages ever last. It looks like a serial port is rated to have a voltage swing from -15v to +15v and can work with voltage as low as +-5v. I have yet to meter the TFT box but if the voltage is to high coming out of the serial port I can just lower it a bit. I'm looking to find out if any Arduino will work for this or is there a specific version I should use.

That make sense?

I'm sorry I've never owned a Porsche.

Lulz, Nope! This guy http://www.broadcastavsales.com/products/TFT-EAS-911-%252d-Reconditioned.html

AWOL: I'm sorry I've never owned a Porsche.

And I didn't know they came in a thin-film transistor configuration.