What should I get for an auto watering solution?

Ok, I am new to micro-controllers and just recently started to read up about Arduino. I really liked this concept to everything. I planned on growing an herb garden for my new apartment and wanted to combine a simple project into it.

I am aiming to have an Arduino chip have some sort of sensor in the soil. This sensor would tell the chip when the plants should be watered. Once the water in the soil is down to a certain programmable threshold, it then would send power to a simple water pump (something like that of a fish bowl) this pump will then put out water over the soil until it gets to the maximum threshold.

This is something that sounds simple but i have no clue where to start and what i would need. I would like to keep a small size chip for this. I don't know what one to go with and what to use for the other parts.

Could someone provide me with more information on this? I am not worried so much about the software side of things as i am the hardware.

Thanks

Herbs? Marijuana? Lol… How about vegetables? Anyways look for growduino or arduino garden. Bunch of people have made an arduino controlled garden.

Herbs in as cooking herbs lol. Thanks for that information, that is exactly what I wanted to do.

Just to get you started on some ideas…since I was thinking about this myself the other day. I’m kind of new to this stuff as well so these are very vague ideas.

I would start off getting an Arduino kit of some sort to mess around with and start with basic stuff like blinking led’s and pushbuttons…so you can get idea of how to write the software and see how the hardware works. That might give you a better idea of what you need to do.

Getting the water to the plants