What to buy for our first new media lab?

Hey everyone, I’m an undergrad in Nebraska, USA looking to bring a little new media love to the great plains scene out here and am seeking a grant to get a nice bundle of cash to spend on starting up a media lab!

I’m aiming to create a group of students and faculty for both our CS department (which I’m a student of) and our Fine Arts dept to create projects and learn about new media technology and just have fun. I am building a multi-touch table with some CS students and want to know what you think about what other things would be good for introducing a wide range of new media technology to people.

I’m currently planning to get:
5 - Arduinos (of course!)
5 - Joystick shield (very cheap and quick fun for newbies)
3 - MSI Wind laptops for computer vision and audio work
3 - Wii Remotes for wireless controller work

I’m not looking to introduce people to gritty electronics or anything too tough, just easy to grasp and easy to expand artistic technology. Does anyone else have any suggestions for things to buy for this budding group of hackers and makers?

quick n dirty multitouch needs webcams!

might want some communications for the arudino, but serial and some wire can do basic stuff

speaking of wire, get a big spool of multicolored stuff (like Ethernet)

maybe some ldr’s (photoresistors) switches, buttons, potentiometers and whatnot

projector would be nice, or at least a large tv, maybe some small speakers (netbooks and arduinos are not very loud)

and maybe solder wires on everything so people can just grab a part and go experiment

Good ideas, thanks. I definitely need to throw in some webcams and a couple projectors, very important!

I forgot to mention that I will be ordering these Arduino starter kits from Sparkfun, which include some basic fun sensors and wire bundles. We should be covered on the electronics front!