What to get starting out?

Hello, I’ve been shown Arduino by a friend who’s getting it and I’d like to get a bit of feedback from you guys before I start convincing my parents to let me get one.

What should I buy when starting out? I am most interested it operating it wirelessly from my computer… but I really have no idea where to start. Is there a good site to let me know what my options are when first purchasing Arduino?

Also, I am a total beginner in physical electronics, but have no problem coding.

Hallo,

here is an overview of the available official hardware:
http://arduino.cc/en/Main/Hardware

I would start with an Arduino Duemilanove or Diecimila. Does not cost much and you can try many interesting programs (called sketches). The boards connect to the USB port. If you find it fun to play with the Arduino then you might want to upgrade with a XBee shield later.

And get some electronic parts from a local distributor, at least some LEDs and wires would be nice for the start. Maybe the distributor where you buy the Arduino has also a start kit with electronic components. Where are you from?

I always need lots of wire, so get lots of wire with different colors! ( 22AWG = diameter 0.644mm and 0.325mm2, solid core). Dealing with wires needs a wire-cutter. Scissors don’t really do a good job and sooner or later drive you crazy. A breadboard is also never a bad choice for experimenting without having to do any soldering. A basic multimeter (volts,ohms,amps,diode tester, continuity tester) is nice to have too. Some sort of container to keep the small parts neat and orderly. Old jam glasses work too and come for free. There are arduino-kits/starter kits out there, so just look what they contain and think about it. Working with colorful LEDs is always fun.

There’s adafruit.com / sparkfun.com /seeedstudio.com - just to name a few I’ve shopped at before.