What to get when buying Arduino MEGA 2560

Hi all,

I am going to buy my first microcontroller board, I plan to buy the arduino mega 2560.

I want to ask about some technical issues of what should I get to set everything up.

1. I read that the board can be powered with the USB cable. Is that the same cable to program with the arduino software?

2. How do we connect the arduino with the hyperterminal on my PC?

The first time I learn to use microcontroller, I use the cerebot board and it used the RS232 cable. But I am really new to Arduino and I want everything works well.

1. Do I need a power supply from AC - DC to power the board?

2. What Else do I need to start with the Arduino Mega 2560?

I really need your suggestions as I am really a newbie..

Thanks anyway for any input and suggestions.

Regards,
L

It kind of depends what you intend to do with it. If you're content with running blink or very simple stuff that just runs on the board, all you need is the arduino,a USB lead and the downloaded software. Its programmed, powered and communicates with its host down the same connection. It appears as an old fashioned serial connection (a 'COM' port on windows ) and any software that can communicate via a serial port can be used including hyperterminal.

Altough if you're working at the simple end of things and not connecting it to lots of stuff, you'd be better with the cheaper Uno which does pretty much the same except it has fewer connections to the outside world. It also has a replaceable processor which can be handy if/when you fry it...

I intend to start from the beginning, from LED up to more complex stuffs.

As I read the forum, I think the USB cable is used to program with arduino software, what if I want to program the chip with AVR studio (as it supports the GCC compiler thingy)?

Or can I do it with the same thing?

So if it's that simple as you said, I just need the usb cable to provide communication with the software on my PC. Is that correct?