What type of capacitors do I use?

Hello,

I am trying to build the circuit in the picture supplied but I am not sure what type of capacitors I should be using (I am very new to this!). Would anyone be able to send a suggestion my way?

It is intended to be used as a capacitive sensor for an ECG.

Thank you very much in advance!

Circuit.png

Hi Fiona,

I assume when you ask what "type" of capacitor, you are asking if you should use an electrolytic cap. or a ceramic cap (since the value of the capacitors are clearly indicated in your diagram).

Electrolytic capacitors must be polarized in the correct direction, and thus the circuit element for an electrolytic cap will clearly identify the correct orientation of the cap.

In the diagram you posted, there is no indication of what direction the capacitors should be arranged, and thus they are likely ceramic capacitors.

Was this your question?

Dustin

Here I would use a polyester capicitor.

TwoChain:
Hi Fiona,

I assume when you ask what "type" of capacitor, you are asking if you should use an electrolytic cap. or a ceramic cap (since the value of the capacitors are clearly indicated in your diagram).

Electrolytic capacitors must be polarized in the correct direction, and thus the circuit element for an electrolytic cap will clearly identify the correct orientation of the cap.

In the diagram you posted, there is no indication of what direction the capacitors should be arranged, and thus they are likely ceramic capacitors.

Was this your question?

Dustin

Yes that was my question! Sorry for the poor explanation!

And thank you for the response Dustin!

Grumpy_Mike:
Here I would use a polyester capicitor.

http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Types_of_capacitor

Why would you suggest polyester capacitors Grumpy_Mike?

Thanks for the response!

Why would you suggest polyester capacitors

Much lower dielectric loss than a ceramic.