What use is y=x++

Hi

I’m new to C.

I am troubled by y=x++;

I was reading the reference for ++, and the reference example gives:-

x = 2;
y = ++x; // x now contains 3, y contains 3
y = x++; // x contains 4, but y still contains 3

I can understand where I would use y=++x; (I am doing two things at once i.e. incrementing x and assigning it to y).

But where would you use y=x++;?

Surely if you are doing x=x+1, then y has got nothing to do with this operation, so why bother making it look like y is being assigned with y=x++;?

Thanks

Steve

The two forms of the ++increment/decrement— operation are most often used in loops when testing the value...

Do you want the variable to change before the value is tested, or after...

Frequently used in for() loop structures.

y=x++;

y contains the previous value after this statement. You can e.g. later restore x to its original value using x = y

But where would you use y=x++;?

You wouldn't, because the result for y is not strictly defined by the C/C++ language standards.

What may work on an Arduino may not work on some other system.

jremington:
You wouldn’t, because the result for y is not strictly defined by the C/C++ language standards.

I’m not much of a spec person. According to http://www.open-std.org/jtc1/sc22/wg21/docs/papers/2014/n4296.pdf (page 10); I’ve added the emphasis.

If a side effect on a scalar
object is unsequenced relative to either another side effect on the same scalar object or a value computation using the value of the same scalar object, and they are not potentially concurrent (1.10), the behavior isundefined.

My understanding is that y = x++; is safe to use and x = x++; is not (it’s also sounds quote useless :wink: )

We agree then, the construction "y=x++;" is completely useless.

jremington:
We agree then, the construction “y=x++;” is completely useless.

If that would be the case, we would have discomfort to read data from successive RAM locations of ATmega using Y pointer. For example –